## WRC CELEBRATES EXCELLENCE WITH KNOWLEDGE TREE AWARDS

One of the highlights of the Water Research Commission (WRC) Symposium 2017 was the third WRC Knowledge Tree Awards. The awards celebrate men and women who have had a major impact in their pursuit for excellence in the water science domain. Recipients were acknowledged based on the impact their research has made in the following categories: transformation and redress, sustainable development solutions, empowering of communities, informing policy- and decisionmaking, human capital development in the water science sector, new products and services for economic development, and innovation

## This year's winners were:

- In the transformation and redress category: Prof Faizal Bux, Director of the Institute for Water and Wastewater Technology at the Durban University of Technology;
- In the sustainable development solutions category: Cate

- Nimanya from Water for People, Uganda.
- In the empowerment of communities category: Dr Bongani Ncube of the Centre for Water and Sanitation Research at the Cape Peninsula University of Technology;
- In the informing policy and decision-making category: Ms Namhla Mbona from the South African National Biodiversity
- In the human capital development category: Prof Lise Korsten, from the Department of Microbiology and Plant Pathology and Dr Eyob Tesfamariam, from the Department of Integrated Plant and Soil Sciences both at the University of Pretoria (UP);
- In the new products and services category: Prof John Annandale from UP and David Still of Partners in Development; and
- Innovation: Dean Hodgkiss, innovator of the LookSeeDo tool.



Prof Faizal Bux (centre), receiving the WRC Knowledge Tree Award from WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo (left) and WRC Deputy Chair, Prof Sibusiso Vil-Nkomo.



Cate Nimanya (centre) with her award, flanked by WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo, and WRC Board member, Dr Ntombifuthi Nala.



Dr Bongani Ncube (centre) was congratulated by WRC CEO, Dhesiaen Naidoo and WRC Board member, Dr Ntombifuthi Nala.



Namhla Mbona receiving her award from WRC Deputy Chair, Prof Sibusiso Vil-Nkomo, while WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo, looks on.



Prof Lise Korsten (centre) receiving her award from WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo and WRC Board member, Dr Aldo Stroebel.



Dr Eyob Tesfamariam receiving his award from from WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo and WRC Board member, Dr Aldo Stroebel.



David Still (centre) received his award from WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo, and Energy and Water Sector Education and Training Authority CEO, Errol Gradwell.



Dr Amit Pramanik from USA's Water Environment Research Foundation (right) handed the award to Dean Hodgkiss, while WRC CEO, Dhesigen Naidoo, looked on.