adv. Block Print This Page Close Window

Dr John Zvimba - Research Manager , Wastewater treatment and management


Dr John Ngoni Zvimba is currently with the Water Research Commission (WRC), as a Research Manager responsible for wastewater treatment and management. Prior to joining the WRC, he has been a Senior Research Scientist at the CSIR. He is a chemist by training specializing in Biophysical, Bioinorganic and Analytical Chemistry, and his research focus area include municipal, industrial and mining wastewater(s) treatment and management. He has 9 years’ experience post his doctoral studies, providing strategic research direction and 8 years’ experience pre his doctoral studies focusing on laboratory quality management, academic research and human capital development. He has authored/co-authored 22 peer reviewed publications, 1 book, 1 book chapter, 2 provisional patents, 18 conference presentations, 32 technical reports and has successfully co-supervised two Master students to completion. Before joining the CSIR, Dr. Zvimba worked for Mintek as a Technical Specialist, where he led and provided strategic research direction for the Science Vote Research projects in Advanced Analytical Method Development. He has also been a post-doctoral fellow in Bioprocess Engineering and a Chemistry temporary replacement lecturer at the University of Cape Town. Prior to his doctorate studies, he has been an academic instrumental in the establishment of the Department of Chemical Technology at Midlands State University (Zimbabwe). Dr Zvimba has worked as a Senior Analytical Chemist in support of the National Health functions and also as an Advanced Level Chemistry Teacher. He is a former member of the American Chemical Society (ACS), the South African Chemical Institute (SACI), and a current member of the Water Institute of Southern Africa (WISA) and has served as panelist for several committees. He has received the UCT Research Associate-ship (2003 – 2005), Sasol Post-graduate Gold Medal (2005) and the Claude Leon Post-Doctoral Fellowship awards (2006).