about us | careers | terms & conditions | intranet | sitemap | contact us
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Knowledge Hub
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Resources & Tools
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
News & Media
Skip Navigation Links
FET Water
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Mine Water Atlas
Skip Navigation Links
Login | Register
Go Search



The following documents are available in Adobe pdf format:

Water Research Act No 34 of 1971 (87KB)
Public Finance Management Act No 1 of 1999
Promotion of Access to Information Act (revised August 2004):  (40KB)
produced in accordance with the PAIA Act No 2 of 2000
Water Services Act No 108 of 1997 (430KB)
National Water Act No 36 of 1998 (NWA) (239KB)
NWA Amendment 1999 (17KB)
National Water Resource Strategy (NWRS) September 2004
National Water Resource Strategy (NWRS2) June 2013( 3.93 MB)
Water Research Amendment Bill

Board Directors

The WRC, under the competent direction of its Board, continues to manage its strategic and operational affairs within a sound corporate governance framework, complying strictly with both the Water Research Act and the PFMA and Treasury Regulations.

Click on names below to view abridged CVs and photos

Name Organisation
Dr Nozibele Mjoli ( Chairperson)

Hlathi Development Services

Prof Sibusiso Vil-Nkomo (Deputy Chair) University of Pretoria
Prof Aldo Stroebel  National Research Foundation  
Dr Mosidi Makgae Council for Geoscience
Adv Anil Singh
Department of Water and Sanitation
Ms Ndileka Mohapi Department of  Water and Sanitation
Mr D Naidoo Water Research Commission (CEO)
Ms Massacha Khulekelwe Mbonambi Mtobozi Financial Governance & Compliance
Mr Adolphius Cassius  Ndhlovu MAC Ndhlovu Inc. Attorneys
Dr Ntombifuthi Patience Nala Government Communication and Information System
Mr Imraan Patel Department of Science and Technology
Ms Mpumi Msezane Trans Caledon Tunnel Authority



The management of the WRC is in the hands of its Executive, consisting of the Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Group Executives of Research & Development  and Innovation & Impact , Executive Managers of the Key Strategic Areas (KSAs) including Finance and Administration.

Click on names below to view abridged CVs and photos

Name Position
Mr Dhesigen Naidoo
Chief Executive Officer
Dr Stanley Liphadzi
Group Executive: Research & Development
Dr Mandla Msibi
Group Executive : Innovation & Impact
Ms Reshmili Lutchman
Executive Manager: Corporate Services
Mr Jay Bhagwan
Executive Manager : Water Use and Waste Management
Dr Gerhard Backeberg
Executive Manager : Water Utilisation in Agriculture
Dr Shafick Adams
Executive Manager : Water-Linked  Ecosystems
Mr Fazel Ismail
Chief Financial Officer
Telephone: +27-12-761-9300

E-Mail: info@wrc.org.za

Physical Address:

Lynnwood Bridge Office Park

Bloukrans Building,

4 Daventry Street, Lynnwood Manor


Latitude: 25° 45.939’S
Longitude: 28° 16.736’E

Postal Address:
Private Bag X03
GEZINA, 0031, South Africa

Directions to the New office:

Click here to find directions to our new office 

Map to the New offices:
Copyright 2018 - Water Research Commission Designed By: Ceenex