about us | careers | terms & conditions | intranet | extranet | sitemap | contact us
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Knowledge Hub
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Resources & Tools
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
News & Media
Skip Navigation Links
FET Water
Skip Navigation Links
Skip Navigation Links
Mine Water Atlas
Login | Register
Go Search

Lani van Vuuren 
 Leading water researcher receives award

Leading hydrological and water resource modelling researcher, Prof Denis Hughes, has been awarded the Rhodes University Vice Chancellor’s Distinguished Senior Research Award at the university’s recent graduation ceremonies.

Prof Hughes is the Director of the Institute for Water Research at the same university.

With more than 25 years’ experience in hydrological and water resource modelling, Prof Hughes has contributed significantly to the South African water sector. He has led and contributed to numerous research projects funded by the Water Research Commission and the Department of Water Affairs. Recent projects are related to developments and methodologies for determining and implementing the Ecological Reserve as part of the National Water Act; the development of the SPATSIM software package (a framework and database for the applications of hydrological and water resource models); and hydrological modelling uncertainty analyses as well as the development of practical approaches to dealing with uncertainty in water resource estimation for ungauged basins.

Prof Hughes has authored and co-authored more than 70 publications in international scientific literature, many conference papers and contract reports. He has also served as a hydrological specialist for several large-scale Reserve determination projects. He currently serves as the national representative and chairman of the South African National Committee for the International Association of Hydrological Sciences (SANCIAHS). He is also the Vice President of the IAHS International Commission on Surface Water.

Contact: laniv@wrc.org.za

Prof Denis Hughes, Rhodes University
Copyright 2017 - Water Research Commission Designed By: Ceenex